E-Commerce Nexus

E-Procurement

E-procurement is generally referred to as the term for the electronic purchase of products or services by a company via digital networks. Modern information and communication technologies support the implementation of operational, tactical and strategic procurement tasks.

Modern electronic shopping processes the relationship and processes between the consumer and the supplier via Internet-accessible platforms. As a result, the following challenges can be overcome in an economic way, among others:

  • Routine work: The purchasing department uses a lot of time for recurring tasks, such. For example, by posting purchase requisitions, requesting supplier catalogs, and manually searching for suppliers and products. Studies estimate that nearly 70% of all shopping transactions fall into this area. For tasks with higher added value (such as the execution of tenders and supplier negotiations) there is accordingly little time.
  • Purchasing regulations: Up to one-third of all goods and services to be procured are purchased outside of formal procurement and thus outside of valid regulations. Despite negotiated framework agreements, employees often procure products from companies with which agreements have not been made in advance. In some cases, there are no procurement regulations at all, so that individual decisions are always made.
  • Acquisition time: The real procurement process requires enormous time resources, since the individual process steps take place with the addition of real employees. This applies both to the requirement formulation and the approval procedures, as well as to the order processing (eg supplier selection and incoming inspection). Studies have shown that real procurement processes can take up to nine days.
  • Procurement costs: The real procurement process is relatively expensive, which is not only due to the personnel employed, but is in particular due to the fact that about 50% of all orders are still paper-based. International studies have shown that the cost of procuring a $ 5 item and a $ 4,000 item is about the same, and the total cost of a single procurement process is around $ 70- $ 300.

Against the background of these problem areas, e-procurement should represent a significant improvement. To achieve this, however, specific requirements have to be met for the five building blocks “systems”, “processes”, “management”, “procurement”, “marketing” and “implementation”.

E-Commerce Nexus

E-Procurement

Das E-Procurement steht allgemein als Begriff für den elektronischen Einkauf von Produkten bzw. Dienstleistungen durch ein Unternehmen über digitale Netzwerke. Durch Verwendung moderner Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien werden die Durchführung von operativen, taktischen und strategischen Aufgaben im Beschaffungsbereich unterstützt.

Der moderne elektronische Einkauf wickelt die Beziehung und Abläufe zwischen dem Konsumenten und dem Lieferenten über im Internet zugängliche Plattformen ab. Dadurch können auf ökonomischen Weg unter anderem die folgenden Herausforderungen bewältigt werden:

  • Routinearbeiten: Die Einkaufsabteilung verwendet sehr viel Zeit für wiederkehrende Aufgaben, so z. B. mit dem Verbuchen von Beschaffungsanträgen, dem Anfordern von Lieferantenkatalogen und der manuellen Suche nach Lieferanten und Produkten. Studien gehen davon aus, dass nahezu 70 % aller Einkaufsvorgänge in diesen Bereich fallen. Für Aufgaben mit höherer Wertschöpfung (wie z. B. der Durchführung von Ausschreibungen und Lieferantenverhandlungen) bleibt dementsprechend wenig Zeit.
  • Einkaufsregularien: Bis zu einem Drittel aller zu beschaffender Güter und Dienstleistungen werden außerhalb der formalen Beschaffung und damit abseits von gültigen Regularien eingekauft. Trotz verhandelter Rahmenverträge werden von den Mitarbeitern oftmals Produkte von Unternehmen beschafft, mit denen nicht vorab Vereinbarungen getroffen wurden. Teilweise liegen überhaupt keine Regularien für die Beschaffung vor, sodass es immer wieder zu Einzelfallentscheidungen kommt.
  • Beschaffungszeit: Der reale Beschaffungsprozess benötigt enorme Zeitressourcen, da die einzelnen Ablaufschritte unter der Hinzunahme realer Mitarbeiter erfolgt. Dies gilt sowohl für die Bedarfsformulierung und die Genehmigungsverfahren, als auch für die Bestellabwicklung (z. B. Lieferantenauswahl und Eingangskontrolle). Studien haben ergeben, dass reale Beschaffungsprozesse bis zu neun Tage dauern können.
  • Beschaffungskosten: Der reale Beschaffungsprozess ist relativ kostspielig, was nicht nur an dem eingesetzten Personal liegt, sondern insbesondere in der Tatsache begründet ist, dass immer noch ca. 50 % aller Bestellungen papierbasiert sind. Studien im internationalen Umfeld haben ergeben, dass die Beschaffungskosten für einen $ 5-Artikel und einen $ 4.000-Artikel in etwa gleich hoch sind und sich die Gesamtkosten für einen einzelnen Beschaffungsvorgang bei etwa $ 70 – $ 300 bewegen.

Vor dem Hintergrund dieser Problemfelder soll das E-Procurement eine deutliche Verbesserung darstellen. Um dies zu erreichen, müssen jedoch spezifische Anforderungen bezüglich der fünf Bausteine „Systeme“, „Prozesse“, „Management“, (Beschaffungs-) „Marketing“ und „Implementierung“ erfüllt werden.